Ealta National Scrabble Championship - 36th edition

Also known as the National League, or even the Winter League, the Malta National Scrabble Championship is the oldest and most prestigious national Scrabble competition. 

Played out over a period of almost four months, winning the championship requires a rare combination of skill and stamina. In such a taxing competition, luck can be said to play a minimal part.

No wonder then that over the 35 past editions of the championship, only nine players have ever managed to claim the title of National Champion (see the Roll of Honours). 

Will reigning champion Theresa Brousson (photo) succeed in her quest for a record thirteenth championship title? Will David Delicata (photo) bridge the gap that saw him end last year's edition within striking distance of Brousson? Will other players also be in contention?

Follow our regular results and news updates to discover how these questions are being answered.


(penned & published by Nicky Vella Laurenti, photo credit: John Chew)


36th Malta National Scrabble Championship: List of Participants (This list will be final as of Sun 5 Jan 2020 at noon.)

Venue: Club Premises, Floriana

Click below to download PDF: